Golang Password Encryption For Apps and Websites

As one of the first exercises I’ve conducted in Golang as part of getting used to the core language/framework I’ve implemented a simple password authentication package. It uses Bcrypt for actually hashing the password with 64 bit salting created via Dev/Rand which is just standard practice really. This was more an exercise in building something practical and getting a handle on the syntax of doing some slightly more advanced things.

One thing I’ve noticed with Go, especially using this handy dandy Go Plugin, is that it’s forced me to write really clean code(at least I think so). I’ve really been trying to emphasize this lately, but Go seems to really take it to the next level, at least so far with this really simple bit of code. Anyway, I wrote the whole thing to be tested so each function has a well defined responsibility that is easy to call and check.

and the corresponding GoConvey tests:

Boom, a tested, working password authentication package! Not bad for an hour’s work.

As always, this is my first crack based on what I know, and what I read out there on the interwebs today about Golang best practices. Let me know if you see anything blatantly wrong here and I will make it not so blatantly wrong in case any poor fool uses my code.

Leave a Reply

